2012 Remembrance of 9/11

I will never forget the horrific events of September 11, 2001. I was a head teacher in a child care classroom. A teacher from the other end of the hall ran in the classroom and told us about planes flying into the World Trade center. While continuing classroom activities, I turned the radio on to an all news station.

The parents started coming to pick up their children. My classroom staff started leaving while I remained till the last child in the room left. The parent of the last child told me she started to go home and take a nap a then come for her child. I told her we would have called you, because your child would have been the only child here.

I did not see any televised images of the 9/11 horror until after the jet crashes and the twin towers collapsed. I stopped in the ice cream/sandwich shop next to the child care center when going home. There I saw a replay of the 2nd plane flying into the Twin Tower. After finally getting home. I turned on the TV and saw close-ups of a person waving a large white piece of cloth and other people hanging out of windows at the top of one of the twin towers. I almost fell to the floor when I realized those people were dead.

I think of the heroes who lost their lives to save people. To mention a few from so many, there were building managers Frank Di Martini and Pablo Ortiz who saved  many people trapped in offices in the upper floors after the crash. Fire Marshall Ron Bucca (a long distance runner) who mad made it to the 78th floor on foot while helping trapped people get to the stairway when he was killed in the tower collapse. Port Authority police officer, Walwyn Stuart lost his life helping people escape at the bottom of the towers. Go here to read about the heroes of the Pentagon on 9/11. I also remember and honor those on the doomed Flight 93 who kept it from being another missile headed for either the White House or the Capitol Building.

My heart continues to go out to those who lost love ones. Just think about the families who lost more than one love one on that day! Think of the terrible tragedy suffered  by people such as John and Jan Vigiano who lost 2 sons, a firefighter and a police officer. Patricia Smith was a toddler when she lost her mother, a police officer Moira Smith whose last photograph was of her helping an injured person from the towers. She died some 25 minutes later. Kevin Villa 8 years old in 2001, also lost his mother, EMT Jamel Merino.  Go here for an old post on the children lost on 9/11. Life goes on, but we should never forget the horrific tragedy of 9/11. I leave you with a view of the new  beautiful 1 World Trade Center still in progress.

 

Leave a Reply

