Responding to an Al Sharpton Post and Where He is Now at MSNBC

I continue to get views and comments on my July 27th blog post,  MSNBC’s Higher Ratings with Al Sharpton every few weeks or so. This was a wait and see post, but a few folks went off the deep end, because I did not bash Mr. Sharpton’s racial politicking and social angst. Then there were responses in support of Mr. Sharpton. I am not one of his supporters and take issues with most of his dispositions, but I am not a hater on anyone and that includes Mr. Sharpton. I do listen often (Currently listening to some segments of Neil Boortz in Atlanta through the computer) to conservative/libertarian and liberal leftist talk radio to hear the arguments from differing political view points. Since the liberal leftist side is far less represented in talk radio, the local urban talk radio station is where I go to hear the liberal leftist arguments.

Philly’s urban talk radio has Al Sharpton on from 1:00-4:00 p. m. weekdays. I do not listen to his radio program in its entirety, but I do catch segments. That also goes for his weekday 6:00 p. m. TV program. Folks in my household who feel where he is coming from is not represented enough on TV are happy with the fact that he has TV program, but they never turn it on. I think they are representative in part of many out there on the liberal/left side. I say in part, because one family member is just too use to watching local news and the national nightly news during the 6 p. m. hour. But many on the liberal/left side just are not into watching news programming.

Al Sharpton started out getting decent ratings as a substitute host. The viewer ratings starved MSNBC jumped on the ratings boost right away by putting Mr. Sharpton on and dumping Cenk Uygur who had only been in the early evening time slot for only 6 months. Mr. Sharpton’s viewer ratings went down,  but he stills pulls in higher ratings than CNN’s John King every other day or so. Now if someone subbing gets better ratings than Mr. Sharpton, he will be gone too! But then, maybe his situation would get a different handling. See the ratings for Thursday and Friday cable news programming here and here.

I think MSNBC also gave Al Sharpton a program, because of the criticism of the cable news station being pro liberal and pro minority, but did not have any people of color hosting in the evening line up. The cable news station would see some damaging publicity and reactions if they dumped Mr. Sharpton and replace him with a non black: thus,  Professors, Dr. Michael Eric Dyson and Dr. Melissa Harris-Perry are probably the possibilities if Al Sharpton ever gets the heave-ho.

2 thoughts on “Responding to an Al Sharpton Post and Where He is Now at MSNBC

  1. I think that you do a tremendous amount of research into how each and every word will effect every leaf on every tree in the world and less effort into what your true opinions are. The problem with liberals are, they’re hypocrites. They welcome diversity and differing opinions as long as they agree with it. Disagree with Obama? You’re racist! Disagree with Sharpton or replace him with a non-person-of-color? (I’m not sure what liberals call people who aren’t black anymore!). Absolute racist! And the holiest of all holy grails (that’s right–I brought religion into it–I hope you have a defribulator handy!)–support a black Republican (Herman Cain) WTF could you possibly be thinking!!! A black person in the republican party??!! He must have been brainwashed and/or paid to state his beliefs! So much for the land of the free in the land of liberals! Watch every single word you say and every action you take–it will be judged. You must fit into a very tiny box to be a proper, bonafide liberal! No wonder most of them are so uptight and angry. By the way, I think Cain has a place in the upcoming republican administration, but he lacks political experience to be president. I know he was running on the fact he’s a political outsider, be we’ve just seen what happens when America elects a president who lacks executive experience. Obama never even had a real job, for cripes sake! (Notice the political correctness in not saying Christ–that might just offend someone and we can’t do that in Liberal Land!) Community organizer does not count as a real job, either. I honestly don’t want to bore you with the evidence of multiple, continual failure and absence of leadership on the part of Obama because soon it won’t matter and the American ship will correct it’s course. In that I have faith. And I mean that in the most non judgemental way possible whether you believe or disbelieve in any higher power whatsoever to include God, Buddha, the criminal Muhhamed…I mean the prophet…oh crap I just screwed that up…see, that’s why I can’t be a liberal!

  2. Okay there I went off the deep end in the other direction! I understand you’re not a liberal and you’re probably not to the extreme of a Michael Savage (though I personally agree with much of what he says). There seems to be no place for moderates anymore and, while the mantra now is “blame Bush,” I am going to blame Obama. Anytime you have a leader on either end of the political spectrum unwilling to meet in the middle, you will be left with Americans feeling as though they must choose one side or the other. I’m referring to the first two years of Obama’s presidency when he flat refused to meet with republicans whatsoever and now, with 2012 approaching, wants to blame them for bi-partisanship, is counting on American amnesia. I only hope and pray for a republican leader (we can safely count on Obama being a one-term president) who can talk to every elected official since they represent the will of the people.

Leave a Reply

