Father’s Day 2011

Proverbs 20:7

The righteous man walks in his integrity; His children are blessed after him.

This is a composite of past Father’s Day posts with some tweaking.

Here it is Father’s day and there are so many children and adults who have had very little if any contact with their fathers. Some hardly have a clue as to who could be their father. I worked with people who gave me a strange look when I talked about my Dad, because they could not relate to a male parent. I am blessed to have never known what that was like. The state of fatherhood appears to continue to decline. The Lord Jesus Christ is the best answer for halting that decline. Husbands and fathers who decided to make Jesus Christ Savior and Lord in their personal lives, have made the very best decision for their entire families. When my father made his decision for Christ, it made all the difference in the world. To all fathers outside of Christ, invite Him in to save you from the eternal effects of your wrong doing i.e. sins. Let the Lord establish you. This will result in your family being blessed. 


I think I grew up in the era that was the end of the consistent 2 parent family. During the fifties and sixties, all my neighborhood friends lived in homes with both their mother and father. It was the same for most of my elementary school classmates with the very tiny exception of those living with one parent due to death. Some of my friend’s fathers were in the home, but were distant, and were such disciplinarians that some of my friends were afraid and the relationship was on the weak side.  My father corrected my wrong behavior, but I was never afraid of him. He was always loving, and affectionate. I could always go to him. He was so special. My father went to be with the Lord in 2007.  

My father, a tenor who sang on the church choir and sang solos loved hymns, anthems and sacred music sung by strong quality voices. The music selection was a favorite of my father. 

Steve Brock


4 thoughts on “Father’s Day 2011

  1. Beautiful way to honor your dad for Father’s Day. I’m thankful to have had a good father myself and now am blessed to know that my own children have a great one as well. My own dad was far from perfect but we never doubted his love for us. He went home in 2007 as well and I still cried in church as I remembered him today. But I am so very thankful that he made his peace with God and I rejoice in the fact that he is in the presence of his Heavenly Father today. Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

