Mother’s Day Tribute 2011

Happy Mother’s Day to all moms, grand-moms, great grand-grand-moms, Aunts, foster moms, and neighborhood moms. God bless you all. I give tribute to my mother on this Mother’s day. The two images of her are from 1960 and 2004.

Proverbs 31:26…28a

She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue. 

Her children arise and call her blessed…

The end of last year and all of this year so far have not been good to my mother health wise. My mother who is 85 suffered a mild heart attack and received a new pacemaker while hospitalized for 8 days in January. She came home with  a walker and on oxygen 24/7. On Good Friday, I had to call emergency, because she could barely get out of bed to sit in the adjacent chair. Praise the Lord, the Doctors immediately found the source of the problem which was mostly unrelated to her health problems in January. Today, her energy is increasing in tiny bits.

Through all my mother’s health issues, she continues to be as feisty and opinionated as ever. She is very sharp. My mother loves the Lord and is very much into eschatology i.e. the doctrine of last things. My mother made hats, dresses and suits when I was growing up. She still  has a strong sense of fashion. I love how over the years she taste in Christian music has changed. I remember when she was not all that crazy about black gospel music. She never cared for singers like the late Mahalia Jackson and Albertina Walker. Her only exception was Andre Crouch for a long time. In the 70s, the household would wake up to her playing his albums on Saturdays. On the radio, it was Family Radio type music until about 5 years ago after my sister and I moved my parents into our new household.

We kept the kitchen radio on a  brand new gospel music station. That station, Praise  103.9 at praisephilly.com just grew and grew on her. She discovered gospel singing recording artists that had been around, such as the Clark Sisters. I leave you with another one of her favorites from that singing group.

Leave a Reply

