Encountering Stereotypical Views on the Right

I  blogged about my comments to reactions and erroneous statements made about black conservatives and their views (including my own) by Democrat Party bound, liberal and leftist in the black community. This post is about reactions and a couple of erroneous statements from some whites on the conservative right I have encountered on Facebook and other online venues of shared opinions.

I have already gave my 2 cents on black people always voting black misconception. If you have not read that post, it is in the sidebar next to the blog posts under the link heading, Did You Read This One.  I continue to encounter blacks voting black equation belief on the conservative side. I just do not understand how the Democratic Party is left out of that equation. After all if it is true that black people always vote black candidates, black Republican candidates would get the black vote in great numbers. That does not happen.

All statements about black people on the conservative side are not uninformed, but some! Thanks to Facebook shared links, I come across some blogs and columns that tend to be frequented by mostly white conservatives and maybe a few black and white liberals. I see more stereotypical comments about black people than I should, like comments dealing with fried chicken and watermelon. On one blog, a commenter said that blacks should stop playing  “Grand Theft Auto” and learn some history. You know I had to respond to that ignorant comment. I love the silent treatment I get when I put my 2 cents to that kind of ignorance. Comments continue while no one responds to mine, but there are no more ignorant comments like the aforementioned on the specific blog thread after my response.

 One thing that some conservative my not like that I do is to respond with a defense that is specific to untrue or unfair knocks at someone who is a Democrat, liberal, leftist and or deemed a racist. Responded to a snide knock at Bill Cosby’s negative comments on Donald Trump, when the commenter called  him “Mr. Pudding Pops”. The implication being that was all he was famous and good for. I responded with ‘He is also Mr. Creator of one of the most popular family shows on TV, funder of college scholarships and college program funder/contributor.’

Most Blacks on the Democratic liberal side see the negative stereotypical comments coming from some conservative whites and question why any black person would be on the same political side with that kind of thinking. For me, it has nothing to do with the racial stereotypical thinking that is found on the conservative side  and the liberal side (especially about conservative blacks).  It is about the core conservative values which have nothing to do with race.

One thought on “Encountering Stereotypical Views on the Right

Leave a Reply

