And I Thought My Mother was Strict!

I have not read the book, Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mom. The author, Amy Chua is making the rounds of the TV talk and news programs and sparking strong debate on child raising methods. Her book is a memoir and is not intended to be a how to guide on raising a child. From what I am hearing, Ms. Chua’s upbringing was in a fashion that did not allow for her to make any choices growing up in the home of her Chinese immigrant parents. I grew up with a strict mother. This is not just on my say-so. When other adults and even some from my mother’s generation heard what was not allowed, from me and my mother, I got a few, “My, your mother was strict!” I have to say, her American style strictness was nothing in comparison to the strict upbringing that Amy Chua experienced. I could make choices, although rather limited by today’s standards.

Ms. Chua started out giving her 2 daughters the upbringing she received, but has softened somewhat due to her rebellious younger daughter. In various reactions to Ms. Chua, she is getting applause, while others are giving her a deep thumbs down. I am in the group that falls in the middle as far as child rearing goes (if I had any). I am not for the strict imposition of The “A” grade as the only acceptable grade and not even an “A-” as Ms. Chua experienced and imposed on her daughters in their school work. I am for pushing your child to do their best. Being able to make choices should definitely be a part of one’s life growing up. Of course those choices start out small  and then expand based on age and individual maturity.

I enjoyed the Culture Warrior segment on the O’Reilly Factor this past Thursday. Bill wasn’t that impressed with Ms. Chua as were Gretchen Carlson and Cheryl Casone. This segment of the O’Reilly Factor is fun to watch.

Leave a Reply

