Starting to Consider the 2012 Republican Presidential Possibilities

I guess it is time to start considering who to possibly support for the Presidency on the Republican side. People on the conservative side are getting excited about having a presidential victory like recent congressional one.  I am not so sure about that. I think Pres. Obama may win a second term. Of course, it will delight me to be wrong, but I see him winning like Bill Clinton won a second term through a sea of increased Republican victories in the both Houses of Congress back in 1996.  Well if this scenario plays itself again, having Congress fully Republican with a second termed Pres. Obama will work. If the Pres. tries to put forth agenda items like Obamacare, with a dominated Republican Congress, they will not see the light of day.

As for the possibility of a Republican presidential candidate that could win against Pres. Obama, as much as I like Sarah Palin, I do not think she would win. Left-wingers (those who believe in prayer) are praying and hoping for her to be the Republican candidate, because they are so sure that she would get the same vote totals or less as John McCain got in 2008 against Pres. Obama. Radio right-wing talkers like Neil Boortz, Michael Medved and Dominic Giordano feel the same way.

Early in the last presidential election, I was for Mike Huckabee. If he runs again, I will hold back and see who else stands out, because at this point most of the current prospects are not screaming president to me. I grew to like Newt Gingrich, but he still has character issues dodging him. Michigan Governor Tim Pawlenty wants to run and is making TV talk show visits to increase his visibility. He needs that, because I am sure that a good portion of you reading this are saying, “Tim Who!” Mitt Romney was a possibility with me, until I realized he is responsible for a state version of Obamacare in Massachusetts. He is going to have to come up with some great accomplishments and good ideas for the future for me to reconsider him.

I do not know too much about Haley Barbour except the bad press he initiated in the last month. I admit he comes across like ‘Boss Hog’ to me. Rick Santorum was my Senator who I never voted for while a Democrat. When I did vote for him, he lost. Since then, he has appeared as Fox New contributor, filled in as a sub host for Bill Bennett’s early morning talker, and writes newspaper columns. I am sure he has done more, but I do not think it is enough to get him primary and caucus votes. I haven’t looked into Indiana Governor, Mitch Daniels as a prospect. Who knows, he could be good!. New Orleans’ Bobby Jindal’s name is still being proposed. I like him, but his eligibility to serve will come under scrutiny due to the challenges, specifically the one dealing with the natural-born (parents not born in this country) which continues to come up with Pres. Obama.

Senator John Thune and Rep. Mike Pense are possibilities that I could see myself supporting. Unfortunately, 2012 is too early for Gov. Chris Christie and Rep. Alan West to even consider running, but if they do, I will jump on their bandwagons right away.

Leave a Reply

