112th Congress: A Republican Victory That is a Surprise to Some

The 112th Congress is in place. I do not do too much gloating, but this is primarily a gloat post. When Barack Obama won the Presidential election in November of 2008, there were countless comments on various media venues, especially in the chat room of the of the early morning talk show host on Philly’s one and only urban talk radio station saying that we were seeing the end of the Republican Party. I went back and forth with one chatterer on this subject. I continued to hear locally (Philly and where I now live in a borough 15 -20 miles away in Montgomery County, PA) how the Republicans were dead and there was no chance of them seeing any kind of victory in the future.

What are those folks saying now? The chatterer  I went back and forth with on the subject of the ending of the Republican Party was in that chat room under an assigned numerical identity as I also was; thus, I do not know who  I was debating. I loved to know how that person is reacting to the Republican congressional victory. From a few of those who felt the Republicans were powerless and a joke, I now hear angry and insulting remarks about Republicans and the TEA Party over the Democratic loses. For many Barack Obama supporters, the Republican victory is driving them crazy. I suspect that some of that crowd’s loud angst is due to not bothering to vote last November. Go here for an interesting read on how the Republicans won the House.

Now, as far as the Republican victory goes, I hope they remain victorious. I hope they do not get caught up in fiascos like the Republican Congress was in the mid 90s when they closed the government down and when those who voted for them started missing paychecks, Republicans quickly became the enemy.  At the same time, I hope the Republican Congress can balance while standing firm on constitutional and conservative principles under the leadership of the new (returning) House Speaker, John Boehner. The ball is in their court and they have a tough road ahead of them. God bless them.

2 thoughts on “112th Congress: A Republican Victory That is a Surprise to Some

Leave a Reply

