Loving the Internet, So Do Not Mess With It!

I cannot imagine life without the Internet today. Back in the mid 90s when I did not have an Internet connected computer, I used my Temple University alumni status to use an Internet computer in one of the many computer labs on the campus. Back then, there was one computer lab, that anyone off the street could use to get on the Internet.

I watched a weeknight MSNBC technology program, The Site (before MSNBC became a leftist machine) at 10 P. M.  hosted by Soledad O’Brien. I use to jot down pointers on improving one’s Internet experience and then after work, I would head over to a Temple U. computer lab and carry them out. In those days, 9 P. M. was the earliest I came home. From The Site, I learned about a free email account. The next evening, I established my first email account, Hotmail, which I still use today. I could not get over what a person could do through email communication!

I later took a few courses on the Internet and  early website (html) design. Because of the Internet,  research for projects is easier to obtain. Business moves at a faster pace. It is so much easier to communicate with people who are far away. There are just so many Internet uses that have made life nicer that cannot be listed here! I started reading blogs and columns, that I would never read in hard copy. Those readings were essential in my going conservative  and doing my own blogging.

Currently, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) wants to  increase the power of government over the Internet for regulation. Do we really need that? If you don’t think it is a big deal, think about it possibly leading to an increased  monthly bill for Internet use. This “net neutrality” is not really neutral. Are we headed down the road where the destination is control of the Internet a la China, Venezuela, and Muslim countries? Read more about what this is really about here. Please don’t screw up our Internet access.

NOTE: If you are wondering, Temple University now restricts its computer labs  to enrolled students. The cracked down came after 9/11.  By that time, I was Internet connected at home.