Loving Classical

In taking a little break from my political, current events related posts, this post is cultural, specifically within the realm of music. I came to really enjoy listening to classical music in the mid 1980s. I particularly love concertos and my favorite eras of music or the romantic and early modern periods. I enjoy listening to the music of such composers as Claude Debussy, Maurice Ravel. One of my most favorite compositions is Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s Scheherazade. At home on Sundays, Temple University’s Music station, plays gospel music in the morning, by early afternoon it turns to jazz. In my household we eat any early dinner on Sundays. Thus, after we come home from church, we start dinner preparations. One family member likes the old jazz classics that the station plays during that time.

By the time we sit down to eat, the station is playing classical music. At that point, that family member that likes the old jazz classics always requests to change the station. She just does not like classical music. Lately the music selections that are playing while we are dining are modern pieces written within the last 40 years. Every now and then when a Johann Sebastian Bach selection is playing, I try to emphasize the Godly significance, because over 90% of Bach’s music is Christian and dedicated to the glory of God. Her response, “I don’t feel that.” I also get banished to a TV in another part of the house when I turn on Diane Bish’s all classical music program in the living room. Two family members can’t stand her classical organ playing.

Telling you about my classical music tastes against my family members gives you an inkling to why I am becoming a fan of Aaron Dworkin and his Sphinx Organization , which brings classical music to urban areas and cultivates its young classical musicians .

Click on Aaron Dworkin’s photo to view and hear his Real American Story

 

 

And I leave you with the first movement of my very favorite classical orchestral work.

 

Orquesta Municipal Sinfonica de Caracas. July 2006, Carmine Lauri (Violin Solo), Sarah Ionnides, Conductor

Not Working Past Age 60

The French are so angry about the new Pension Reform bill. It adds on just 2 more years of working for a living. The French citizens believe that they have a right to retire at age 60 and are taking to the streets and striking to keep from having to work to age 62. I guess they must feel that it is not their problem that retirements at age 60 cannot be sustained in their faltering economy…but it is! Read more here.