This Issue Should Especially Test Liberal Progressives Who are Parents

To all the liberal progressives out there, how progressive are you about sex integrated bathrooms at schools? I pose this question especially to those who have children in elementary through high school.  No matter how progressive you are, I would venture to say that you are conservative on this issue and would not want your middle school age daughter in a school bathroom with a male student (and visa versa).

Maine’s Human Relations Commission has ruled in favor of the transgendered middle school student who was born male and wants to use the school’s girl’s bathrooms instead of the isolated bathrooms that the school designated for him. The parents of this student have filed a lawsuit. Same sex bathrooms are discriminatory! It looks like the public schools in Maine may be closer to male and female students using the same bathrooms. Read more about it here and here.

I end with a bit of a digression. Back when I was in my 30s in the 1980s taking an evening class at Temple University’s Ambler campus, I had to deal with a unisex bathroom. The building where my class was located had one bathroom with several stalls, thus it was used by both men and women. I hated using it. The first time after I went in there, a guy was coming out of one of the stalls. I turned around and walked out. I went back in after he left. Needless to say, I had some embarrassing moments that semester.

Leave a Reply

